How to Bounce Back from Obstacles

Bend, don't break.

Few feelings better than hitting a lifetime PB. 🙌

Especially when you overcame a chronic injury to get there.

3 chest to bar chin ups, +44kg @ 85kg bw

Previous best was 1 rep at +40kg @ 75kg bw

Right before I got golfer's elbow which slowed me down for 3 years.

Here are 3 reflections on coming back stronger ⬇️

1. The longer the journey - the more you learn

Would I have chosen to get golfer's elbow on my quest for the one arm chin up? Probs not.

Getting severe elbow pain, rehabbing, only to re-injure it again 3 times was not exactly 'fun'. But it taught me

  • humility

  • patience

  • perseverance

If I hadn't learned it the hard way - I wouldn't have learned it at all.

If I had simply recovered in 2 months, and gone straight back into training - sure I’d be stronger now. But having a real setback, where there were no shortcuts and no seemingly simple answers made me work hard to overcome it.

And now I have confidence both in my ability to have success in recovery from injury - but also my ability to remain positive and constructive during those challenging times. So I’m less afraid than ever.

Life doesn't always give you lemons. But when it does - pay attention.

2. The only way to return to health is to keep going.

I've encountered many climbers who have had the same injury as me.

Most of them are no longer climbing. A few of us are recovered and stronger than ever.

The difference? Not the severity of the original injury. Not the age of the person.

The ones who recovered simply kept going.

I took one step forward, two steps backwards. Again. And Again.

After 2 years, I started training pull ups again. I progressed to +20kg slowly and steadily - and then the pain came back.

A year later I finally had success. A little more rest. A little slower progression. A little more consistency with programming, nutrition and sleep.

​I had to push into the fear of re-injury, and start actually getting stronger (SLOWLY) to finally break through the other side.

Now I'm finally unafraid to test myself. Today I reached the max weight limit of my pullup bar - otherwise I expect +50kg would have gone for at least 1 rep.

3. Your definition of success is the only one that matters.

All goals are arbitrary. Remember that.

I was young and hungry and wanted to do a one arm chin up.

I thought I'd get it by 30.

Shit didn't go my way. But now at 33 - I'm so stoked to be stronger than ever and pain free.

Is it where I thought I'd be? Not even close. But I'm very proud to have kept going despite feeling like I might never be able to climb and pull heavy again.

And now I know how to properly

  • rehab tendonitis

  • attack my weaknesses directly

  • manage training load and recovery for long term results

I know that goal is still waiting for me - and I'm coming for it. 💪

______________

Now it's your turn: What's a major obstacle you overcame, and what lesson did you learn from it?

-John

P.S. Got a question for me? Respond to this email directly or send me a DM